Hougang stuns home crowd at Queenstown


Sebastien Etiemble 28 pen’

Igor Cerina 37′, Geison Moura 87′

The Cheetahs pulled the first upset of the 2014 season, grabbing a valuable away win against title hopeful Tanjong Pagar at Queenstown Stadium on Thursday evening.

A fantastic diving header from Geison Moura from a Fazli Jaffar’s cross three minutes from time earned the Cheetahs a surprise win.

Tanjong Pagar, without Kamel Ramdhani (injured); Nor Azli and Ruzaini Zainal, started off strongly, especially with Monsef Zerka, who returned after injury.

The Jaguars took the lead on 28 minutes. A cross from Firdaus Idros landed on Wahyudi Wahid’s arm in the penalty box. Sebastien Etiemble converted from the ensuing spotkick.

However, nine minutes later, the Cheetahs showed they weren’t pushovers. After a number of corner kicks, Fazli Jaffar floated one above the Jaguars’ defence. Igor Cerina rose high to head the ball past Aurelien Heirisson. It was the Croatian’s second goal in two games.

Hougang almost increased the lead 2 minutes from half time with an excellent volley from outside the box, but it was saved by Heirisson.

In the second half, both teams pressed for the much needed lead. Tanjong Pagar, particularly, were guilty of spurning two chances that could have easily been goals.

Firdaus Idros for once got an excellent ball from Sebastien Etiemble, but he ballooned it high above the goal. Masrezwan Masturi had a one-on-one opportunity with Fadhil Salim, but his chip landed above the net.

Hougang too, had a decent chance with Shunsuke Nakatake heading a ball straight into Heirisson’s arm. However, the goal on the 86th minute turned out to be the match winner, as Geison Moura’s header put the Hougang Hools into delirium and the home crowd silenced with shock.

Aurelien Heirisson, Anthony Aymard (Seah Si Hao 53′), Hafiz Osman, Hanafi Salleh, Zahid Ahmad, Tengku Mushadad, Asraf Rashid, Firdaus Idros, Sebastien Etiemble, Monsef Zerka.

Fadhil Salim, Djurica Zuparic (Nurhilmi Jasni 23′), Igor Cerina, Wahyudi Wahid, Faizal Amir, Shunsuke Nakatake, Azhar Sairudin, Fazli Jaffar, Erwan Gunawan, Fairoz Hasan (Diego Gama 56′), Geison Moura

Bookmark the permalink.