Prime League: Hougang United 0-5 NFA U-18




NFA U-18 5


The Cheetahs were blitzed aside by the National Football Academy U-18 side 0-5 at Hougang Stadium on Sunday Evening.

The NFA team, featuring most of the Youth Olympic Games 2010 team, looked most subdued most of the first half. The Cheetahs had few chances converted, especially from first teamers Sobrie Mazelan and Basit Hamid, who were controlling the wings in most of the first half.

However, a defensive scramble from a corner led the visitors to their opening goal on 42 minutes. A corner from Muhaimin Suhaimi found captaim Muhd Hazim unmarked from the left. Hazim led the ball to Hanafie Akbar who slot the ball to an unmaarked Ilyas Lee, who slammed the ball home on close range.

In the second half, the NFA team came out a different side, and keeping the possession more to themselves. And they rewarded themselves with another goal on 52 minutes.

A corner again from Muhaimin Suhaimi found Hanafie Akbar, who decided to take a first time shot. However, the ball hit Azan Jaya’s body, and he attempted a clearence. To his dismay, the ball bundled over the net to an own goal.

By this time, coach Johana Johari decided to push Benedict Chua to the midfield and decided to replace Hwang Kok Chang with Johnson Chia, who have just returned from a long injury lay off. However, Johnson Chia endured a torrid time on the pitch.

A great cross from Hazim was adjudged to be short. Johnson could clear the ball away from the defence, however, he gave the ball away to Muhaimin on the right, who decided to slot the ball to Johnathan Tan to sweep the ball home on 60 minutes. Johnson was then subbed out within ten minutes with Roimy Kassim

Four minutes later, it was 4-0. Muhd Hazim found space and opportunity to thunder a volley past a helpless Ameerul Shafiq to make it 4-0.

There was time for a fifth goal, as NFA’s no 38 headed home from close range in injury time.

It was the young Cheetahs third defeat this season, with all three losses being more than a four-goal margin.


Ameerul Shafiq, Benedict Chua, Sim Shun Hai, Aubrey Ang, Azan Jaya,  Fairoz Hasan (Lim Wee Kiong 84′), Hwang Kok Chang (Johnson Chia 62′) (Roimy Kassim 72′), Sobrie Mazelan, Basit Hamid, Faozi Rossli, Shameer Aziq

Bookmark the permalink.