Hougang unbeaten in eight games

Diego Gama 13′, Geison Moura 67′


The Cheetahs went full speed ahead with their title aspirations when they dispatched the Eagles of Geylang 2-0 at Hougang Stadium on Monday.

Diego Gama and Geison Moura scored on either half to earn the Cheetahs a fourth win in their last five matches. They have now remained unbeaten in eight games in the 2014 S.League competition with five wins and three draws giving the team 18 points from a possible total of 24.

Hougang went into the game without injured Igor Cerina but that did not distract the players as they continued their fighting spirit to maintain a top six finish.

Geylang International went into the game with a three match losing streak and with a point to prove. In the reverse game at Jalan Besar Stadium, Geylang had shocked Hougang after coming back from 2 goals down to emerge as 3-2 winners.

At Hougang Stadium, the Cheetahs got an early goal in the 12th minute after Nurhilmi Jasni delivered a cross to Diego Gama and the Brazilian hooked the ball over Geylang’s goalkeeper Joey Sim. 

Leo Felice had the only chance in the first half for Geylang but his attempt was saved by Fadhil Salim.

Hougang doubled the lead in the 56th minute after a howler from Sim as he punched Fazli Jaffar’s cross into Geison’s path and the Brazilian notched in a volley to score his 13th goal of the campaign.

Despite the lead, Hougang had to work hard to maintain their clean sheet as Fadhil Salim pulled off a fantastic save to deny Franco Chivilo a chance. The result ensure that Hougang moved up to fifth spot, a point above Home United who drew with Woodland Wellington.

Fadhil Salim, Igor Ferreira (Syaqir Sulaiman 89′), Firman Hanif, Lau Meng Meng, Wahyudi Wahid, Shunsuke Nakatake, Azhar Sairudin (Fairoz Hasan 77′), Fazli Jaffar, Nurhilmi Jasni (Erwan Gunawan 84′), Geison Moura, Diego Gama.

Joey Sim, Yuki Ichikawa, Kento Fukuda, Khairulnizam Jumahat (Shah Hirul 46′), Fabian Kwok, Aliff Shahfein (Fuad Ramli 70′), Mustaqim Manzur, Franco Chivilo, Leo Felice, Ridhuan Muhammad, Joaquin Lopez (Jalal 71′).

Bookmark the permalink.