The League Cup is an annual group stage and knockout football competition in Singapore contested by S.League clubs. It was launched in 2007 as the third major domestic trophy, together with the S.League Championship and the Singapore Cup.

Over the years, we had a few partners who have supported us being the Cup Title Sponsors. And in for this 2016 Season, The New Paper will once again be the title sponsor of this tournament for the second year running.

In this year’s edition, eight S.League teams will be competing for the trophy and they will be divided into two groups of four via an open draw. The top-two teams will progress to the semi-final stage of the competition, whilst the bottom-two teams from both groups will compete against each other in the Plate semi-finals.